top of page

Unfixable:a Blog

Imagine, Evolve, Enjoy...repeat

  • Writer's pictureBrotha Love

Romantic Relationships are stupid

Updated: Oct 16, 2018





Here's a random, somewhat profane (in a productive way lol) thought that I had during a moment back in Oct. 2017 where I was completely baffled by the idea of romance. Mind you, this thought came after a relatively hard break up so the sting of that is present...that aside I think I raise a valid question: Why is romance, or relationships for that matter, important? I'm curious to see what people feel after reading this.


Romantic relationships are stupid.

Now I know what your thinking...

No they aren't!  (Yes they are, that's just your conditioning responding).  (Fuck yo hangups)

Also, real quickly, what's with the immediate defense of the word "relationship"?  Don't bullshit me either.  It isn't an enduring hope in the ability of people to find compromise or that love knows no bounds.  Its because we don't know any other way to feel...ijs...its involuntary. But I guarantee we've all had this thought: Why am I doing this? This is stupid. (i.e., spending all this money, hoping what I know will happen doesn't, making all these changes but avoiding the biggest one: self-evaluation).

"Relationships" as they exist are simply masks that we arbitrarily try on until we find one that is just acceptable enough to justify our dishonesty with ourselves and others.

These things we latch on to do not represent intimacy, connection, trust, communication or love.  These essential elements have been generalized for one reason...because stupidity is easy.

Is this bad?  I wouldn't say so.  If something is an outlet for fucking and not eating alone, as Chris Rock so expertly described, Call it that, treat it as such with reasonable expectation. Or better yet don't expect anything (expectations are for arrogant assholes and liars)...rather know what is for you. Don't expect it to be your saving grace from emotional trauma or the fantasy that someone could ever treat you better than you treat yourself.  See...just stupid when you think about it, right?

Do romantic relationships have to be stupid infinitely?  Nope, although they probably will be.  I'd say the most critical question is:  Are we truly open to having romantic relationships that aren't stupid?  And if so, where to begin?

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Offer more than you Receive

Peace and Love Family! So I wrote this piece as I was planning my move away from Florida about 6 months ago and never got around to posting it. Now feels like an even better time to post as I prep to

bottom of page